Movie Review: Hunger Games

26 Mar

Ok. I must say that I was really looking forward to seeing the Hunger Games this weekend and was trying not to have too many expectations. I tried not to listen to too many reviews because I wanted to go into it without having other peoples’ opinions clouding my view (though I heard a pretty negative one on NPR that bummed me out). This was also pretty difficult to do because HG is taking over the U.S. right now.

One of my worries was that the setting wouldn’t match up with what I had pictured in my mind, but I was happily wrong. The filmmakers did a great job of capturing the Appalachian landscape. Jennifer Lawrence, Stanley Tucci, Woody Harrelson, and Amandla Stenberg (Rue), I thought, were perfect for their parts.

There were a few things that I thought were lacking (i.e. the depth of the relationship between Rue and Katniss, Katniss’ inner turmoil with Peeta), but overall I was highly impressed and cannot wait to see the Catching Fire. I don’t know if I’m patient enough to wait until November 2013 (the supposed release date)!

I also wanted to share this Goodreads blog post that looks at the relationship between war/discord and the popularity of dystopian novels. Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

